License Suspension for Providing Alcohol to Minors
Upon convicting a person on knowingly purchasing for or providing spirituous liquor to a minor, the court may direct the MVD to suspend the person’s driver license (driving privilege) as follows:
- First conviction – a period of not more than 30 days.
- Second or subsequent conviction – a period of not more than six (6) months.
It’s Tough to be Young…and Getting Tougher
Youthful drivers are substantially overrepresented in motor vehicle crashes, as compared to all other age groups. Alcohol involvement in vehicle crashes reaches its highest rate for those between the ages of 21 and 34. Further survey data indicates that adults between the ages of 21 and 29 are the most likely to drivers after they have been drinking.
It’s not only tough to be young, but the consequences of driving under the influence are getting tougher. Driving while impaired is a crime.
The best way to avoid death, injury, penalties, and jail time is to practice Zero-Tolerance…No Alcohol. If you are under 21, any trace of alcohol, illegal drugs, or drugs that impair your ability to drive safely will result in stiff penalties, and your license will be suspended for 2 years. Remember that being under the legal limit of 0.08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC) does not mean that it is legal or safe for you to drive. Studies prove that alcohol impairs a person’s ability to drive at levels substantially below 0.08 BAC.
Driving Under the Influence
As an Arizona DUI Lawyer, I have seen so many people arrested for DUI in AZ. It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drugs to drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle. There are many conditions that can affect your ability to drive even after one drink, for example, body weight, emotional or physical condition. The best rule to follow is still if you drink, do not drive.
When you apply for and accept the privilege to drive a vehicle in Arizona, you give consent to test for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or drug content if you are arrested for driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs (DUI). This is known as the Implied Consent Law.
When a law enforcement officer has reason to believe you have been driving while under the influence, the officer will request that you submit to a BAC test of your blood, breath, urine, or other bodily substance to measure the amount of alcohol present in your bloodstream.
The state of Arizona has strict DUI laws which can lead to harsh penalties and numerous restrictions. Many out-of-town visitors driving around the Grand Canyon state are not aware of these laws, particularly the Zero tolerance DUI law. Read on to understand the zero-tolerance DUI laws in Arizona.
Arizona is a no-tolerance state for driving under the influence, or DUI, meaning you can be arrested with a blood-alcohol content of less than the legal limit of 0.08 percent.
The zero-tolerance law in Arizona means that an officer can still arrest you if you show signs of impairment or intoxication, even if you register a blood alcohol concentration less than the legal limit of 0.08 allowed for driving. The zero-tolerance law is applied even though Arizona Revised Statute 28-1381 stipulates that “it may be presumed that the defendant was not under the influence of intoxicating liquor” if the BAC is 0.05 percent or lower.
Canyon State Law – Mesa
1013 S. Stapley Dr. Suite 2
Mesa, AZ 85204
Canyon State Law – Surprise
15331 W Bell Rd Ste 212
Surprise, AZ 85374
Canyon State Law – Gilbert
4365 E Pecos Rd #130
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Canyon State Law – Chandler
333 N Dobson Rd #5
Chandler, AZ 85224